St. Gall Parish Mission Statement
We, the members of St. Gall parish, are called by the Holy Spirit through Baptism to be a caring community of saints & sinners living the gospel of Jesus Christ in every circumstance of our lives, growing together in faith, love, joy, and compassion.
St. Gall Parish is a unique community of faith bordering on the Fox Valley, serving the Catholic faithful in the western part of Kane County, in the Diocese of Rockford. Situated in the semi-rural setting of Elburn, Illinois, we journey in faith together, serving our community,our country, and our Church.
Pastor Tim's Welcome Message
Welcome to St. Gall. We are a warm, close and friendly group of believers who have accepted the Lord into our lives. Because of this, we truly care about and minister to those in our community and beyond.
Parishoners have made a serious commitment to attend Mass each week, to get involved with one of our many ministries and to offer a fair share of financial support. Registration and participation are a matter of covenant to us so that we can continue to build a strong and even more vibrant Faith community.
New Parishioners are most welcome and formal registration is essential for the sacraments, letters for sponsorship, etc. Please call the Parish Office or fill out a registration form found in the back of the church.
In the early 1800s, Mass was commonly held in the homes of parishioners when a priest would travel to the area. A little frame church was built in 1851, located halfway between Elburn (then Blackberry) and Maple Park (then Lodi).
The first church of St. Gall was built in 1870 on the southeast side of Elburn by the men of Blackberry Mission. The stone structure seved well until the current church at the corner of Route 47 and Shannon Street was built in 1925. The stone of the first Church was used to construct the shelters in the Elburn Forest Preserve and Johnson's Mound.
In July of 1970, the Parish Hall was completed. The 50-year-old church was renovated and redecorated during the winter and spring of 1975, and again during the summer and fall of 1989. Our Parish has grown to 690 families with almost 425 children in our Religious Education Program.
The generosity of St. Gall parishioners has continued to provide the buildings necessary for active Parish Life. We have purchased 30 acres of land at the corner of Route 47 and Hughes Road for a future St. Gall Parish. Our history is continuing to be written by many dedicated families who are carrying on the original spirit of faith, sacrifice, and community.
What is a Parish?? Listen to Father Seigel's thoughts about a parish......